Elite 8 Internship Project: Summer 2015

During the Summer 2015 time period, I was granted the opportunity to serve as a 7 On Your Side and General Assignment Intern for ABC 7 located in Arlington, Virginia. For our end of the year internship project, I was cast as a co-anchor alongside Madeline Hay. Our newscast was solely produced by us, the interns. While it was my first time ever serving as an anchor – and I was extremely nervous – I learned a lot about myself in the process.

  1. I have a lot more respect for anchors than I ever thought I would (not to say I never did)
  2. On-camera…Not my thing. I thought I wanted to be a reporter or anchor, but after this experience, I realized that I’m more comfortable serving behind-the-scenes.
  3. Production, editing and writing seemed to be more of my niche. After this internship experience, I looked into production opportunities in the Atlanta area upon my return back to Spelman.

Ultimately, my summer experience at WJLA-TV taught me that while broadcast journalism is an entertaining field – and something I am actually good at – it’s not a career that I would like to pursue for the rest of my life. After all, isn’t that what an internship is? Figuring out if that field is the one for you?

 

Leave a Reply

