Creative Writing

creative writingI’ve been writing for as long as I could possibly remember. My very first creative writing prose was in the third grade at Mulvey Elementary School in Long Island. When given the assignment to write a story based upon a monkey sticker placed in the corner of my looseleaf paper, I wrote a story about a monkey and a young Asian girl named Tai Lin venturing on a journey through China to save her brother, who was kidnapped by an evil villain. Since then, I have been in love with creative writing. It’s the feeling of being able to create my own world with a pen and paper with the assistance of my vivid imagination is such a rush. Growing up being bulled and experience negative self-image and low self-esteem, writing served as an outlet for me to privately express myself and create my own realm where nothing and no one could drag me down.

In my spare time, when I am not finishing up assignments, writing articles or cranking out press releases, I love to write fiction and creative non-fiction stories. During my junior year of high school, I wrote a play entitled “Who Said Sibling Rivalry Was Dead?”, which was chosen for a competition called SING. My play was then transformed into a musical which I produced, choreographed, composed and casted all by myself. While too in my junior year of high school, I was enrolled in a course called Anatomy and Physiology. For our exit project, we were charged with the task to create a project based upon a disorder or disease of our choice.

casita mariaI chose Bulimia Nervosa and took the route that I knew best: creative writing. I developed a protagonist with which my audience – who was then my teacher – would be able to empathize and sympathize. She is a college-bound student whom experiences pregnancy, domestic violence, low self-esteem and much more throughout the span of the eight pages. After receiving an A on my project submission, I decided to take my work to the next level. During my senior year of high school, I submitted by story, Change of Pace, to the Casita Maria Center for Arts and Education and the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers Creative Writing Competition 2013. Although I did not win grand, first or second place, I was awarded with Honourable Mention, which was the very first accolade I’ve ever received not related to academia and on my own creative writing merit.

Currently, I am working on a novel which I intend to be released by my 30th birthday. Although I cannot promise anything to be released any sooner, I will continue to hone my writing skills by blogging and writing articles for a multitude of media outlet throughout my career as an emerging media professional.

Leave a Reply

