Got That Master P, No Limits

On December 9th, 2016, my life changed forever. There was so much that I accomplished in the year of 2016 – or, as some would like to call it, 20L6 – but December 9th was the day I became a Spelman College alumna. I remember going to Walmart with my best friend and my cousin the night after I flew in from Seattle, Washington and I was wearing a Spelman College alumna hat. A woman came up to me and said, “How long ago did you

Image result for penny proud spelman college
I see you with the Spelman ‘nalia, Penny Proud! You go, girl!

graduate?”. I replied nervously, “Yesterday”. She laughed and told me congratulations and that she was proud of me. I didn’t think there was a better feeling than the day that I was accepted into Spelman College on December 24th, 2012. Boy, was I wrong. The best feeling is knowing that I graduated from Spelman College (an entire semester early). All of the hard work, sweat, tears, and sleepless nights all paid off all thanks to God and my amazing support system of less than ten people to allow me to relish in this moment as an alumna.

Knowing that I officially have my Bachelor’s Degree in English with a minor in Writing and an interdisciplinary concentration in Mass Communications feels a lot better knowing that I did it on my own. I have had countless people tell me throughout the course of my college career that I could excel, succeed or accomplish any of my goals, but that didn’t do anything but push me even harder. I mean, after all, there’s no revenge greater than proving someone wrong, am I right? In the year of 2016, I was able to accomplish all of the following:

  • Launch my travel blog, The Travelista Diaries
  • Study abroad in Brighton, England at the University of Sussex for an entire semester
  • Get inducted into two honour societies in absentia while studying abroad
    • Sigma Tau Delta International Honour Society for English Majors
    • Phi Beta Delta National Honour Society for International Scholars
  • Land a summer internship at Johnson & Johnson
  • Graduate Spelman College at semester early with a 3.3 cumulative GPA
  • Be able to reach the age of 21 without any kids, STDS or eating disorders
  • Meet my second family, Groove Theory Dance

Now that I have my degree, it’s safe to say that the world is my oysterImage result for eating oysters gif and I am ready to dive deep with my knife and fork (or however the hell people eat oysters). Thank you everyone for your love and support as a college student. I wonder how many of you will be ready to go on this journey with me into alumna land.

XOXO,

D’Shonda Daily

Leave a Reply

